Last 3 / Next 5: Comics for 11/23

Posted: November 22, 2011 in Comics
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Ok, let’s see if I can keep this going as a regular weekly column. 

Please if anyone reads this feel free to comment…otherwise I just feel like I’m talking to myself (which is nothing new actually.  [you said it Geoff], {yes you did}, [good for you] – {oops there I go again}). 

 3 comics from last week that I loved and would recommend picking up:

Batman – everyone should be reading this title.  Scott Snyder is writing the best Batman book is years and the art is beautiful. 

Wonder Woman – continues to amaze me how much I like this when I’ve never liked Wonder Woman before.

Avengers – the traditional team building issue with beautiful art from Daniel Acuña.  Was a lot of fun.

 

5 comics I’m excited to pick up this week:

Wolverine and the X-Men – hands down this is the #1 book I’m excited for!!!

Fantastic Four – their #600 issue.  Sounds like major things happen as Jonathan Hickman’s story continues to build.  And it’s something like 96 pages of all new story.  Can’t beat that!

Locke & Key: The Guide to Known Keys – Locke & Key is my favorite comic book hands down.  A kind of filler issue going over the keys we’ve seen and a new short story. 

Secret Avengers – another one-off issue from Warren Ellis, one of my favorite authors.  These standalone issues he’s been doing are fantastic. 

DMZ: 71 issues in and one left to go after this.  After reading this for 6 years I’m looking forward to seeing how it ends, especially after the end of the last issue.  Not the time to jump in (lol) but a series I’d highly recommend reading in trade if you like very political stories.

 

See you next week.

 

www.marvel.com

www.dccomics.com

www.idwpublishing.com

 

Leave a Reply

