R3VIEW – The Infinite Hunt from Coarse

Posted: March 24, 2012 in Art, Toys
Tags: , , , , , ,

In November of 2010 The watch maker Nooka had an art show where 10 designers took the company mascot Nooka Nooka and created an original art piece using his design. Mark Landwher from Coarse created a piece called The Infinite Hunt which was at the time a one-of-a-kind, only for the exhibit. When pictures of the exhibit were posted I immediately fell in love with it, knowing thought that I’d never own it.

Fast forward to July 2011 and Coarse has an exhibit at Paradise Toys in Taipei where an edition of 3 of The Infinite Hunt is unveiled. This time finances prevented me from grabbing one from the show, but a few months later the fates smiled on me and I was able to acquire the #1 of 3. Now after additional months of drama (which I won’t go into here) he’s finally with me and I must say is my favorite piece from Coarse now in my collection.

The review:
This is a Coarse Original – meaning a very limited edition, hand made by Mark. It comes in a large wooden Original box that has the familiar Paw face on the cover.

The Noop is solid resin so if you have the resin False Friends In Pain, you know how heavy it is. I love resin for that – it feels like art. In addition the head piece is so large it adds even more weight.

He comes in 3 sections, the base which is signed and numbered and has 2 pegs that slide inside the Noop’s feet to hold him upright. The Noop body is a solid piece. And the Headdress is a solid piece that fits onto a neck stump. You could easily take a standard Noop from Jaws or False Friends and probably pop the head off and it would fit perfectly on the Nooka Nooka Noop. There is no articulation.

The headdress is finished in a high-gloss lacquer that really shines and gives it a great contrast to the more flat body paint. The Mickey Mouse-esqe hands are also high-gloss finish.

This is one of those situations where I really don’t have anything to write that isn’t high-praise for this figure. When you have a piece of art that is hand-made by someone who’s attention to detail and design aesthetic are so in tune with my own passions – you really have just a perfect marriage of artist and collector.

There are a number of people who have commented at various points of ‘not getting’ this figure, which I can understand because there is definitely and absurdity to it as it integrates the Nooka Nooka design into a Coarse figure and he’s VERY naked, all of which I think you need a certain special mindset to appreciate. I just love that for me, all those come together though to make a piece that’s just fantastic.

Geoff

Coarse Website
Coarse Store

20120324-142948.jpg

20120324-143023.jpg

20120324-143144.jpg

20120324-143342.jpg

Leave a Reply

