R3view Part 2: C2E2 The Panels

Posted: April 19, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Since I was only at C2E2 for a limited time, much of my day at the convention was spent on the showroom floor.  I was able to spend a few hours at a couple of the comic panels I wanted to check out.  Here are my overall thoughts and some of the information I learned while at the panels.

 Panel #1 Marvel’s Avengers v. X-Men:

The panel of course focused on the new comic series that will bring back the phoenix and undoubtedly shake up the Marvel universe.  The speakers at the panel were writers Jason Aaron (Wolverine), Matt Fraction (Invincible Iron Man), Rick Remender (Secret Avengers) and Editor in Chief Axel Alonso.

The panel was run pretty normally, but started off with a funny short video of Wolverine trying to get retribution for the pranks played on him, which quickly got out of hand and began the fight between the X-Men and Avengers. The video was very Robot Chicken-esque, in that all the characters were action figures.  After the video ended the speakers finally started talking about Avengers v. X-men and allowed some fans to read the next for the majority of the remaining time centered the Marvel app and how if you buy the issues of A v. X you would get a free digital copy of the comic as well as another comic (WHAT a savings!).  I will say, enjoy having a hard copy of a comic, if done correctly an App could really improve the comic reader’s experience. 

No groundbreaking information was shared but I really didn’t expect it.  The majority of the questions asked by fans got the “That’s a spoiler we can’t answer that” response. 

The only solid information that I took away from the panel was that alliances will change and that there will be definite winners and losers.

Panel #2 The Big IDW Panel:

Marketing director Dirk Wood hosted the panel with some of the artists from IDW’s newest and upcoming releases.  This was more of a “What’s coming up from IDW” more than anything.  A few lucky fans walked out of the panel with an exclusive Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Hong Kong Exclusive action figure.  Some of the upcoming comic releases announced were a new Rocketeer, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Dr. Who x Star Trek, a new KISS comic, GI Joe, The Crow and Locke and Key will be wrapping up with the last series coming out next year.  Also one comic I did get a little excited about is the upcoming Battle Beasts releases. (I really hope they somehow can incorporate a heat sensitive sticker like the old action figures!)!

The main comic that was talked about during the panel was Smoke and Mirrors.   This 5 issue series produced by writer Mike Costa (GI JOE: COBRA, Blackhawks) artist Ryan Browne (God Hates Astronauts, Blast Furnace), and sleight of hand artist Jon Armstrong  The comic takes place in a 30-40’s era, where magic exists but the main character cannot perform magic.  He must then resort to sleight of hand to try and blend in with the crowd (he isn’t from the magical world).  A young magician finds out his secret and forces the main character to teach him his tricks.  Each issue furthers the story along and at the back of the issue, teaches the readers a sleight of hand trick they can perform.  After the panel I went to their both and picked up issue 2 (one of the only things I bought at the convention…I was quite proud of my restraint.)

Other than that fans asked questions.  I did ask 2 questions at the panel;  It seems there may be a new Ashley Wood book in the works and for the most part the Locke and Key TV show is dead.

Overall many of the comic panels were easily accessible.  Some of the longer lines were for the major players A v. X and DC’s new 52 but they were still manageable.  I didn’t run into problems until I got in line for The Walking Dead panel with Steve Yeun and Lauren Cohan which took place in the IGN Theater (the largest room at the Con).  The room next to the theater was used to corral fans into a snake like line.  There were no ropes or organization to help stop line jumpers or whatnot.  When I got into line, I wasn’t the last person but was at the farthest point from the door so once people started filing into the theater the lines bunched together and blurred so I wasn’t able to get into the theater so I left the line.  I highly doubt I missed much.

Here are a few pictures I took while in the panels.

Next post the Convention floor!

Leave a Reply

