R3view: SDCC Jade Mictlan by Jesse Hernandez x Kuso Vinyl

Posted: July 17, 2012 in Art, Toys, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

On Friday July 13th Jesse Hernandez and Kuso Vinyl released the Jade version of the Mictlan Figure. This figure was limited to only 25 and had a price tag of $150.

Now this figure was not on my want list for SDCC this year. I don’t own any of the other Mictlan figures, and who needs to figure out where to put yet another piece, so why start now. Fellow n3rdlink team member Geoff, on the other hand, was all about the figure. I was with him on preview night when we went to buy what we could and look at the displays in the various booths. That’s when I 1st saw it in person. Holy <insert expletive of choice here>!!! The figure actually looks like Jade — the pics I’d seen up to that point really didn’t do it justice!!!

My “to buy” list that I had sworn to strictly adhere to was instantly out the window.

The figure released on a 1st come 1st serve basis that Friday, so after a very early morning of waiting in line, the floor FINALLY opened, and gave way to the mad dash to the Kuso Vinyl booth. At the booth we were handed tickets and told that we had to come back at noon to purchase the figure, and we could also get it signed at that time, as Jesse Hernandez would be doing his signing. At noon, got my figure, and even got a sweet sketch.

Now enough background, and on to the figure.

If you couldn’t already tell….I like it….I like it a LOT. The figure stands around 5.5 inches tall, and actually looks like its made out of jade. How he got the resin to look like that is beyond me. I’m a big fan of artists exploring other materials, so even though its resin, the fact that he got it to look like it was jade really impressed me. When I got home and my wife saw it she exclaimed “Is that Jade?!” So hats off to you Jesse!

And I even found someplace to put it.

Very nice figure. If you ever see one of these up for grabs anywhere, do not hesitate. BUY IT!

-Mawuli

You can follow kuso vinyl and Jesse Hernandez here:

@kusovinyl

@Jesse_Hernandez

all photographs taken by Arsonal Productions @Arsonal  – thanks for the last minute shooting

Leave a Reply

